The Five People You Meet in Heaven pages 1-55

The Book starts at an ending, which is the last hours before Eddie dies. Eddie feels that he has wasted his life in a dead end job.The day of his death it is Eddie’s 83rd birthday. He is at the amusement park where he works and where he tragically dies. The last memory he has is saving a little girl from a ride at the amusement park. Mitch Albom makes a point by saying “all endings are beginnings. But we just don’t know it at the time”. What do you think is the significance between this quote in Eddie’s life?

After his death, Eddie is alone at the Pier, he doesn’t know if he saved the life of the little girl. Then he realizes he doesn’t need his cane to walk. He can run, jump! He notices all is pain and agony is gone. He notices the Pier was from his childhood, from 75 years ago. Everything was new.

Then he is not alone anymore and he is then accompanied by a familiar face from his childhood, but there is a distinctive feature to him that isn’t ordinary. Who is this person that he meets? What is this distinctive feature and why do you think he is this way? What would you say his significance is to Eddie? 

12 thoughts on “The Five People You Meet in Heaven pages 1-55

  1. Marissa~~ says:

    I’m really liking this book so far. It’s crazy how you never know how one encounter with one person can change their life.

  2. Ashley says:

    This book so far has further proved my belief that everything happens for a reason and that there is no such thing as coincidence. Love it so far!

      • Ashley says:

        for some reason i dont think he did but i plan on reading the next couple of chapters tomorrow!

      • You could be right ! But we will see. Because when he asked the first person. He didn’t give him an answer. So that leaves me still wanting to know if Eddie has saved the girl. Like it’s all I can think about. I think in the end Mitch will answer that but what if he doesn’t ! ???

  3. “all endings are beginnings. But we just don’t know it at the time”.

    I actually just blogged about this yesterday or the day before. When something ends it’s just the beginning for something new we just do not know it at the time. A relationship ends it’s time for something new not necessarily a different relationship but a journey of self discovery. You may loose a job and that’s the end of that but a chance for a new job and new beginning. I use these two as examples because those are two key situations in our life that we do not understand why it’s ending at the time but it does end. We don’t realize until we have self discovered or started a new better job that we realize that the end was needed for that new better beginning.

    • I couldn’t have said it better myself! That is exactly how I feel with my job today. It was not fun being unemployed but had I not taken that risk. I wouldn’t be where I am today.

      In Eddie’s situation, even though his life has ended on earth, it opened the door for him in a different setting and environment. He may need a second or two to understand his new beginnings. But of course, these five people will help better understand about his life on earth and his life after death.

    • Ashley says:

      I completely agree. I quit my job a couple months ago and constantly asked myself why did it happen but now I have focused more on myself and realized it happened for a reason and now I have used it as a lesson and moved on. As I read more of this book I am excited to see Eddie’s journey and what is in store for him.

      • That is good that you are thinking about it in a more optimistic way. We do sometimes have to move on. I know one day you will get the career you worked so hard for, it may not be today or tomorrow. But faith will bring you there soon.

Leave a Reply

